The active ship can perform one standard action during the "Perform Action" step of the Activation phase. Ships can also perform free actions as instructed by cards or mission rules. The actions available to each ship are listed in that ship's action bar.
- As an action, a ship may resolve an ability beginning with the "ACTION:" header on one of its Upgrade or Damage cards.
- A stressed ship cannot perform actions, even free actions.
- A ship must skip its "Perform Action" step if it overlapped another ship while executing a maneuver.
- A ship can still perform free actions even if it moved through or overlapped an obstacle, as long as the ship is not stressed.
- A ship cannot perform the same action more than once during a single round, even if one or more of the actions are free actions.
- If a ship has more than one copy of the same Damage or Upgrade card, it still cannot perform the action described on those cards more than once per round.
- If a card ability or mission effect grants a ship a free action for which it does not have the matching action icon in its action bar, it may still perform that action.
- A ship can choose not to perform an action during the "Perform Action" step or when granted a free action.
Free Actions EditA free action is an action granted to a ship through a card ability or other effect. It does not count as the one standard action that a ship performs during the "Perform Action" step.
- A stressed ship cannot perform free actions.
- A ship can perform free actions even if it skipped "Perform Actions" step due to overlapping an asteroid obstacle or another game effect.
- If a ship is specifically granted a free barrel roll action or a free boost action and cannot complete the action in the desired direction, it may choose a different direction. It cannot choose to perform a different action.
- If the effect granting a free action does not specify which actions are allowed (for example, Push The Limit specifies a free action on your action bar), then the ship may perform any action it could normally perform (from action bar, upgrade cards, etc). You must still follow all action rules; for example, you still cannot perform the same action twice in a round.
Barrel Roll Edit
Ships with the barrel roll icon in their action bar may perform the barrel roll action to move laterally and adjust their position. To perform a barrel roll with a small ship, follow these steps:
- Take the [Straight 1] maneuver template.
- Place one end of the template against the left or right side of the ship's base. The template cannot be placed beyond the front or back edges of the base.
- Lift the ship off the play surface, then place the ship at the other end of the template. The template cannot be beyond the front or back edges of the ship's base, and the ship must face in the same direction as before the barrel roll.
- A ship cannot barrel roll if it would overlap another ship or an obstacle token, or if the maneuver template would overlap an obstacle token.
- A ship cannot barrel roll if this would cause the ship to flee the battlefield.
- When a player declares a barrel roll action for his ship, he must also declare whether the ship is barrel rolling to the left or the right before placing the maneuver template on the play area.
- If a player declares a barrel roll action for his ship and cannot complete the action in the desired direction, he may choose a different direction or a different action entirely.
- Performing a barrel roll does not count as executing a maneuver.
Large Ship Barrel Roll Edit
- When a large ship performs a barrel roll, instead of placing the end of the template against the ship's base, place the long side of the template against the ship's base. All other rules for performing a barrel roll apply as normal.
Ships with the Boost icon in their action bar may perform a boost action. To boost, follow these steps:
- Choose the |1 Forward|, |1 Bank Left|, or |1 Bank Right| maneuver template.
- Set the maneuver template between the ship's front guides.
- Move the ship to the opposite end of the template and slide the rear guides of the ship into the template.
- A ship cannot boost if it would overlap another ship or an obstacle token, or if the maneuver template would overlap an obstacle token.
- A ship cannot boost if this would cause the ship to flee the battlefield.
- When a player declares a boost action for his ship, he must also declare which direction he is boosting before determining if he can complete the boost into that direction.
- If a player declares a boost action for his ship and cannot complete the action using the desired direction, he may choose a different direction or a different action entirely.
- Performing a boost does not count as executing a maneuver.
Ships with the cloak icon in their action bar may perform a cloak action. When a ship performs the cloak action, assign one cloak token to that ship. A cloaked ship follows these rules:
- The agility value of a ship with a cloak token is increased by 2.
- While a ship has a cloak token, it cannot perform attacks.
- A ship cannot perform the cloak action while it already has a cloak token.
- Cloak tokens are not removed during the End phase.
At the start of the Activation phase, after players have resolved all other abilities that trigger at the start of the Activation phase, each ship may spend a cloak token to decloak, starting with the ship with the lowest pilot skill (using initiative to break ties).
When a ship decloaks, it must choose one of the following effects:
- Perform a barrel roll using the [Straight 2] maneuver template.
- Perfom a boost using the [Straight 2] maneuver template.
After all decloaking has been resolved, the Activation phase continues as normal.
- Decloaking is not an action or a maneuver.
- A ship can decloak even while stressed.
- When a player declares that his ship is decloaking, he must declare whether it is barrel rolling to the left, barrel rolling to the right, or boosting forward before placing a maneuver template on the play area.
- A ship cannot decloak if it would overlap another ship or an obstacle token, or if the maneuver template would overlap an obstacle token.
- A ship cannot decloak if this would cause the ship to flee the battlefield.
- If a ship cannot decloak in the desired direction, it may choose another direction or choose not to decloak.
- If a ship cannot decloak in any direction, it cannot decloak.
Ships with the Coordinate icon in their action bar may perform the coordinate action. (Usually a huge ship) To perform the coordinate action, choose another friendly ship at Range 1-2. That ship may immediately perform one free action.
Note: Because it doesn't specify a limit the way PTL or Experimental Interface do, the ship's free action can come from its action bar or upgrade cards. It must still follow all the rules for a free action. Squad Leader offers a similar ability, but with more restrictions.
Ships with the evade icon in their action bar may perform the evade action. To perform the action, assign one evade token to the ship. When defending, the ship may spend that token to add one additional evade result to his defense roll. All unspent evade tokens are removed from ships during the End phase.
- A ship can have more than one evade token, but still cannot spend the same token type on the the same effect multiple times on the same attack.
- If an ability instructs a player to assign an evade token to a ship, this is different than performing an evade action. The ship is assigned the token without performing the action and may still perform the evade action this round.
Focus EditShips with the focus icon in their action bar may perform the focus action. To perform the action, assign one focus token to the ship. When attacking or defending, the ship may spend that token to change all of its focus results to hit results (on attack dice) or evade results (on defense dice). All unspent focus tokens are removed from ships during the End phase.
- A ship can have more than one focus token.
- A ship can spend a focus token even if it did not roll any focus results.
- If a card ability instructs a player to assign a focus token to a ship, this is different than performing a focus action. The ship is assigned the token without performing an action and may still perform the focus action this round.
To perform the recover action, a ship (usually a huge ship) removes all energy tokens from the corresponding ship card. For each energy token removed, the ship recovers one shield, up to its maximum shield value.
If a ship has more than one ship card, then for each energy token, the ship recovers one shield on either of its sections.
Small/Large Ships Edit
A ship with the Reinforce icon can perform the REINFORCE action. When a small or large ship performs a reinforce action, choose either the fore or aft side of a double-sided reinforce token and place the token with that side faceup near its ship token.
When a small or large ship with a reinforce token is defending, resolve the following effects:
- If the fore side of the token is faceup and the attacker is inside the defender's firing arc, add 1 Evade result.
- If the aft side of the token is faceup and the attacker is not inside the defender's firing arc, add 1 Evade result.
This effect does not spend the reinforce token. During the End phase, remove all reinforce tokens.
Huge Ships Edit
To perform the reinforce action, a huge ship places one reinforce token next to either the fore or aft section of the ship. A ship with a reinforce token that is defending adds one Evade result to its defense roll, but only for the section to which the reinforce token is assigned.
The reinforce token stays on the ship until the end of the round, and therefore can be used against multiple attacks. In this way, the reinforce action is like an Evade action that lasts throughout the round, rather than for just a single attack.
Ships with the reload icon in their action bar may perform a reload action. To reload, choose any number of the ship's equipped, discarded torpedo or missile Upgrade cards and flip them faceup, then assign the ship a Weapons Disabled token.
Rotate Arc Edit
As an action, the Shadow Caster may select one of its four quadrants and assign the mobile firing arc to that quadrant. Move the pointer to face the selected quadrant to indicate the mobile firing arc's position.
Ships with the SLAM icon in their action bar may perform a SLAM (SubLight Acceleration Motor) action.
To SLAM, choose and execute a maneuver on the ship's dial. The chosen maneuver must be the same speed as the maneuver that ship executed this round. Then assign that ship a weapons disabled token.
A ship with a weapons disabled token assigned to it cannot perform attacks. Weapons disabled tokens are removed during the End phase along with focus and evade tokens.
Performing a SLAM counts as executing a maneuver.
A ship cannot perform SLAM as a free action.
Target Lock Edit
Ships with the target lock icon in their action bar may perform the ACQUIRE A TARGET LOCK action to acquire a target lock on an enemy ship at Range 1-3. While attacking, a ship can spend a target lock that it has on the defender to reroll any number of its attack dice.
A target lock consists of a red target lock token and a blue target lock token displaying the same letter. When a target lock is acquired, assign the blue target lock token to the ship performing the action (the locking ship), and assign the red target lock token on the target (the locked ship).
Target locks are not removed during the End phase.
A ship can maintain one target lock. If a ship acquires a new target lock, it must remove its old target lock.
- A ship that does not have the target icon in its action bar can acquire and maintain a target lock granted by another game effect.
- If a ship spends a target lock as part of the cost of an ability, that target lock does not also allow the ship to reroll attack dice.
- If a player declares an acquire a target lock action for his ship and the enemy ship he wants to lock is not at range, he may choose a different ship to lock or a different action entirety.
- If an ability instructs a ship to "acquire a target lock", this is different than performing an acquire a target lock action. The ship acquires the target lock without performing an action, and it may do so even if it has already performed the acquire a target lock action during this round.
- A ship can acquire a new target lock on a ship that it already has locked; the old target lock is removed.
- A ship can spend a target lock and choose not to reroll any dice.
- If an effect removes a blue or red target lock token from a ship, the matching red or blue target lock token is also removed (unless the blue target lock is assigned to another ship).
- A ship can be locked by more than one enemy ship.
- When an ability instructs you to acquire a target lock, the locked ship needs to be at Range 1-3, unless the ability explicitly states otherwise or another ability modifies the range at which the ship can acquire target locks. (FAQ, v.4.1.2, 4/25/2016)